multiple distribution package devops

Hello!

I am a little confused on the best way to approach developing R packages with multiple OS environments considered. I also happen to be new at developing packages in R, but I have been using R for a few years.

For instance, I have realized that build_site() appears to behave differently when ported with an .Rproj.user into a different system, creating an error with builds. In Windows 11, I used roxygen documentation methods and then used build site to build the .html docs to see how they rendered. I then copied this into my WSL Ubuntu 22.04 distro. Additionally, I may later be developing on my remote Ubuntu 20.04 server. When running build_site() on Ubuntu 22.04, I ran into:

>  devtools::build_site()
Caused by error in `file(con, "w")`:
! cannot open the connection
See `$stdout` and `$stderr` for standard output and error.
Type .Last.error to see the more details.
Backtrace:
 1. devtools::build_site()
 2. withr::with_temp_libpaths(action = "prefix", code = { …
 3. base::force(code)
 4. withr::with_output_sink(file_temp(), pkgdown::build_site(pkg = pkg$path, …
 5. base::force(code)
 6. pkgdown::build_site(pkg = pkg$path, ...)
 7. pkgdown:::build_site_external(pkg = pkg, examples = examples, run_dont_run = run_dont_run, …
 8. callr::r(function(..., cli_colors, pkgdown_internet) { …
 9. callr:::get_result(output = out, options)
10. callr:::throw(callr_remote_error(remerr, output), parent = fix_msg(remerr[[3]]))
---
Subprocess backtrace:
 1. pkgdown::build_site(...)
 2. pkgdown:::build_site_local(pkg = pkg, examples = examples, run_dont_run = run_dont_run, …
 3. pkgdown::init_site(pkg)
 4. pkgdown:::build_site_meta(pkg)
 5. pkgdown:::write_yaml(meta, path_meta)
 6. pkgdown:::write_lines(yaml::as.yaml(x), path = path)
 7. base::writeLines(enc2utf8(text), path, useBytes = TRUE)
 8. base::file(con, "w")
 9. base::.handleSimpleError(function (e) …
10. global h(simpleError(msg, call))