What kind of licence for using R GUI self-employed need to choose?

Hello to dear R community!

It is not entirely clear to me what various commercial licenses differs, or even whether I should acquire one or still be able to use R free of charge. I am asking for help because I have no experience.

I am a self employed freelancer analyst [sic!]. I would like to use R GUI or RStudio for analysis - obviously what is cheaper, because I do not need many advanced features. I want to use a lot of different modules and packages, I would like to do it completely legally. It means using R and selling the effects of work using R (I mean that I analyze using R, but I sell conclusions from analyzes, not printouts from R).

Which license should I choose (and if any?). The choice is only between these https://www.rstudio.com/pricing/ ?

I have not found a license for RGUI, I do not fully understand how it works properly. Do I just pay for the use of R, RGUI or RStudio, or do I have to buy access to each package separately?

Where to start?

Thank you in advance and greetings to the whole community. I am asking for your understanding - I am new here. :slight_smile:

P.S. I found some topics, like RStudio Desktop (free) eligible for commercial use? but they do not seem to help me, because I still do not understand what is legal here and what is not.

First, IANAL (I am not a lawyer), but I've researched open source licenses for work. So don't quote me in court. And consult a lawyer if you hit any murky parts (see below).

Second, R and R Studio are different things from different groups with different authors. R GUI (I assume you mean Rgui.exe) is part of R. The same license applies. R Studio uses its own license. If you're using the non-enterprise version of R Studio, then the rest of this post applies to that (unless you let other people use it over a network).