User provisioning - rstudio workbench + docker image

Hi,

I am in the process of installing and running Rstudio workbench in AKS cluster, I am using the latest version of the docker image to do so and also using the helm charts which is available in the git repo with some customization.
I am also integration Okta for user authorization using SAML assertion.
I want to understand how will be user provisioning is done for rstudio workbench when we run the image as docker container, all the documentation of user provisioning in rstudio documentation is based on the VM configuration. I am looking for an automated way for user provisioning in rstudio.
Is there any documentation on how we do it using helm charts.

PS: I am not an expert in rstudio.

Thanks
Deepak

Hello @deepsbuns!!

Thanks for reaching out here! What modifications did you need to make to the helm chart, if you don't mind me asking? Anything features we are missing that could be helpful? :smile: Please feel free to submit issues / PRs!

Unfortunately user provisioning for Workbench is still in a very VM-like world today. The way we generally see administrators do this is via an AD or LDAP server and sssd used to sync users to the linux OS. I realize this is not a great fit for Kubernetes, the Cloud, or Okta, because such a server may not be available.

In the meantime, another workaround might be writing a little sidecar service that creates users based on requests to the Okta API, a list in a configmap, etc. The Workbench container has supervisord as its init mechanism, so it should be fairly straightforward (though far less than ideal) to inject such a service. One very important element to keep in mind is that users' UIDs should always remain consistent across the cluster, and their linux username should match an assertion attribute coming from Okta (which attribute can be configured).