Trying to find the equivalent of pwcorr in Rstudio

Hello Everyone,

I am new to R and Rstudio, and I have more familiarity with State. Right now, I am trying to run a Pearson's correlation test along with the significance in RStudio, but I cannot seem to get it right. In stata, I would type "pwcorr b_killing hisppct, sig" for example. Would you all have any recommendations of code or packages that could help me accomplish this?

I've never used Stata, but you should look at cor.test() in base R or corr.test() in the pysch package.

2 Likes

So, I am using the psych package, and RStudio is saying "'x' must be numeric". I formatted x as a number, so why am I having this issue? X is a binary variable in my case (0 or 1).

I appreciate all of the help.

Hard for me to tell what is happening from that description. Here are some tips for writing questions that are more likely to get answers.

If you ever want to know "How do I do X in R?", you can use the ?? command. Using your initial question as an example:

??"correlation test"

This searches the documentation of all installed packages and then shows a list of related pages. When I make that query, I get a lot of pages from the nlme package and the psych::phi and stats::cor.test pages. Of course, what's returned depends on what you have installed.

This last note has nothing to do with your question but can really help new R users: there are a lot of packages people have shared on CRAN. No matter the subject of your analysis, chances are CRAN has a package to make it easier. The best place to start looking for them is through the Task Views. Total shot in the dark, but you may be interested in the Statistics for the Social Sciences category.

3 Likes

@truelovewaits, how are you formatting x as a number? What is the result of class(x) for you?

x <- c('0','1','1','1')
y<- c('1','0','1','1')

class(x)
#=> [1] "character"

corr.test(x,y)
#=> Error in cor(x, y, use = use, method = method) : 'x' must be numeric