shiny app reloading any time I download plot

I have a shiny app with a download button for a plot generated within the app. Whenever I download a plot, the entire app reloads, which would basically render the entire app useless. I might be mistaken but I don't think it was always doing this? Any idea for what I can try?

If it makes any difference, the app has not yet been hosted anywhere-- this is just when I'm opening it in my browser from VScode. Clearly I'm new to this whole process...

Thanks in advance for any help I can get!

I might be mistaken but I don't think it was always doing this?
It seems like you are either asking us if the application you wrote didnt use to do something ? or whether its standard for a downloadbutton in shiny to reload the entire app

1. We cant know that.
  2. Absolutely not; you can run the downloadButton example included in the shiny documentation to see that.
library(shiny)
ui <- fluidPage(
  p("Choose a dataset to download."),
  selectInput("dataset", "Dataset", choices = c("mtcars", "airquality")),
  downloadButton("downloadData", "Download")
)

server <- function(input, output) {
  # The requested dataset
  data <- reactive({
    get(input$dataset)
  })

output$downloadData <- downloadHandler(
    filename = function() {
      # Use the selected dataset as the suggested file name
      paste0(input$dataset, ".csv")
    },
    content = function(file) {
      # Write the dataset to the `file` that will be downloaded
      write.csv(data(), file)
    }
  )
}

shinyApp(ui, server)

Yes, I am asking if that is the standard behavior of the button. I was curious if anyone else had run into the same issues and if so what would be a good place to start troubleshooting, since my function mirrors that of the shiny for python documentation. When I run the sample session.download example the same way, I also run into the exact same issue, so wasn't sure if this was something that even has a possible workaround.