Seeking Help with Lee-Carter Model in R

Hey everyone,

I'm new to R and in a bit of a jam while working on a project in R, specifically trying to fit a Lee-Carter model using the StMoMo package.

I'm attempting to create a StMoMoData object using two datasets: one for mortality (males.txt) and another for population data (malespop.txt). Despite having matching years in both datasets, I'm encountering a perplexing error when trying to create a demogdata object : "Number of years doesn't match data."

I'm seeking some guidance on how to tackle this "Number of years" error within the context of fitting a Lee-Carter model.

Here's a snippet of the code I'm working with:

library(StMoMo)
library(demography)

# Read in mortality data
men <- read.table("males.txt", header = TRUE, na.strings = ",")

# Read in population data
pop <- read.table("malespop.txt", header = TRUE, na.strings = ",")

# Create a demogdata object
men_demogdata <- demogdata(data = men, pop = pop, ages = 0:120, years = 1977:2019, type = "mortality")

# Create a StMoMoData object
mena <- StMoMoData(men_demogdata, series = "Male")

#Fit an LC model
LCfit <- fit(object = lc(),
             data = men,
             ages.fit = 0:120,
             years.fit = 1977 : 2019)

Any help or insights you can offer would be greatly appreciated!

Confirm that the men object has an entry for each year

Thank you for your reply, it indeed has an entry for each year for both objects men and pop which leaves me very puzzled

One of the basic and most important rules in this case remains to check that indeed each of your individual menobjects has been entered for the year. In this way, you will be able to solve or rather avoid the problem, which is the error concerning the number of years.

1 Like

Thanks for providing code. Could you kindly take further steps to make it easier for other forum users to help you? Share some representative data that will enable your code to run and show the problematic behaviour.