returning a ggplot() from a shiny module

Hello everyone,

I'm new to shiny and recently started learning about modules. After playing around for a good time, I still struggle to understand what I can return from a moduleServer().

Problem
I created a small shiny module setup, where a slider changes the plot limits. In Case 1, the ggplot() is rendered inside the module and returned afterward. In Case 2, the ggplot() gets returned and rendered afterward. I would expect both setups to work the same, yet Case 1 does work while Case 2 does not.

Questions
Question 1: Where is the mistake?
Question 2: What would a working Case 2 look like, where a server module returns a ggplot()?

Thanks in advance,
Simon

Setup

library(tidyverse)
library(shiny)

x <- 1:100
y <- rnorm(x)
my_data <- data.frame(x, y)
my_plot <- ggplot(my_data, aes(x, y)) + geom_point()

my_plot

sliderUI <- function (id) {
  ns <- NS(id)
  fluidRow(sliderInput(inputId = ns("slider"), label = NULL, min = 1, max = 100, value = c(1, 100)))
}

ui <- fluidPage(
  sliderUI("my_slider_plot"),
  plotOutput("plot")
)

Case 1: works

# reactive(ggplot()) -> renderPlot() -> return()
sliderServer <- function (id, plot) {
  moduleServer(
    id,
    module = function (input, output, session) {

sliderReactive <- reactive({
        plot + xlim(c(input$slider[1], input$slider[2]))
      })

return(renderPlot(sliderReactive()))

}
  )
}

server <- function (input, output) {
  output$plot <- sliderServer("my_slider_plot", plot = my_plot)
}

shinyApp(ui, server)

Case 2: does not work

# reactive(ggplot()) -> return() -> renderPlot()
sliderServer <- function (id, plot) {
  moduleServer(
    id,
    module = function (input, output, session) {

sliderReactive <- reactive({
        plot + xlim(c(input$slider[1], input$slider[2]))
      })

return(sliderReactive())

}
  )
}

output$plot <- renderPlot(sliderServer("my_slider_plot", plot = my_plot))
}

shinyApp(ui, server)