read_csv not respecting col_select, can't read problems()

Hi! I'm pretty new to R. Enjoying it immensely.

I'm reading in all CSV files from a directory using map_dfr to apply read_csv over a list of filenames. The CSV files have a varying number of columns. I only want to import 1:7 and to discard 8: onwards where they exist. All files have a column 8, and some files have some text that is parsed as columns 9, 10 etc when I look at the files in Excel. I don't care about any of these columns. Notably, these extra columns don't have headers.

My code is:

df_csv <- map_dfr(
  csvpaths, 
  read_csv, 
  skip_empty_rows = TRUE,
  col_names = TRUE,
  col_select = 1:7,
  col_types = cols_only(
    Project = col_character(),
    Date = col_character(),
    Employee = col_character(),
    Role = col_character(),
    Rate = col_double(),
    Hours = col_double(),
    Amount = col_double()
  ),
  .id = "Source"
)

What's happening:

• The files are being read in correctly, in that the final df includes the correct information AFAIK.
  • In my RStudio console, read_csv is now outputting what looks like a time? 0s Why? I think this started showing up after my last package update.
  • In my latest test of 15 files, I received 8 warnings (the 0s time is output after the start of the warning message - unsure why?):
Warning messages:                                0s
1: One or more parsing issues, see `problems()` for details 
2: One or more parsing issues, see `problems()` for details 
3: One or more parsing issues, see `problems()` for details 
4: One or more parsing issues, see `problems()` for details 
5: One or more parsing issues, see `problems()` for details 
6: One or more parsing issues, see `problems()` for details 
7: One or more parsing issues, see `problems()` for details 
8: One or more parsing issues, see `problems()` for details 

I'm pretty sure that the warnings relate to instances where a CSV file has more than 8 columns. But!