R Studio Issue - GGPLOT 2 - Please Help!!

I am new to using R Studio on my Macbook Pro Mid 2012 running R Studio. Mac OSX 10.15.7. This is first time using this for my MBA class and never used R Studio or R prior to this class.

I have tried to download caret onto R Studio, but am having an error message.

Can somebody please assist in telling me how to get caret installed? Is there system limitations or some type of error message? Please see attached photos.

Thanks!

Screen Shot 2024-08-28 at 2.27.39 PM

Try running install.packages("ggplot2") in the console. Also, note the warning message, which suggests you should probably upgrade to the current version of RStudio.

1 Like

here is a binary version available but the source version is later:
binary source needs_compilation
ggplot2 3.4.4 3.5.1 FALSE

installing the source package ‘ggplot2’

trying URL 'https://cran.rstudio.com/src/contrib/ggplot2_3.5.1.tar.gz'
Content type 'application/x-gzip' length 3604371 bytes (3.4 MB)

downloaded 3.4 MB

• installing source package ‘ggplot2’ ...
    ** package ‘ggplot2’ successfully unpacked and MD5 sums checked
    ** using staged installation
    ** R
    ** data
    *** moving datasets to lazyload DB
    ** inst
    ** byte-compile and prepare package for lazy loading
    Error in loadNamespace(j <- i[[1L]], c(lib.loc, .libPaths()), versionCheck = vI[[j]]) :
    there is no package called ‘munsell’
    Calls: ... loadNamespace -> withRestarts -> withOneRestart -> doWithOneRestart
    Execution halted
    ERROR: lazy loading failed for package ‘ggplot2’
  • removing ‘/Library/Frameworks/R.framework/Versions/4.2/Resources/library/ggplot2’
    Warning in install.packages :
    installation of package ‘ggplot2’ had non-zero exit status

The downloaded source packages are in
‘/private/var/folders/67/h64hl6t117q0x0wh2pvld7g40000gn/T/RtmpCXuWPb/downloaded_packages’
Warning message: