R shiny: filtering function does not work after manual data upload

Hello, this is my first time posting a question here.
I am working on an existing R-shiny app. I created a function called "filter_unique_traits" to filter out redundant traits with extensions like *_EBV or *_adj_p_r. The app is connected to a database with many plant species. There are multiple occasions where a single trait is present with multiple extensions like *_gEBV_BayesB, *_EBV, and *_adj_p_r. So, the function prioritizes the extensions and then applies the filter simultaneously when a dataset for a specific crop is loaded in the app from the server. The filtered traits are shown in the "Weights for traits" tab in the Shiny app. It works perfectly when a dataset from a particular species is loaded from the server. But the problem is, when I manually upload an Excel file with new traits, then the filtering function does not run. I checked the manually uploaded dataset. There is no problem with the dataset. The filtering just does not run automatically as it runs when a dataset is loaded from a database server.