Plotting an hyperbolic density using ggplot

Hi guys!
I just started learning R and i’ve run into something that I can’t solve.
My problem is the following: I have a time series of daily return on a stock. I have used ghyp package to fit my daily returns to a hyperbolic distribution. Now I want to plot density of that hyperbolic distribution (eg. NIG).

I want to do my plot using ggplot but the ggplot can’t read ghyp package.
Would appreciate any advice.

Hi Denis, Welcome!

Could you ask this with a minimal REPRoducible EXample (reprex)? A reprex makes it much easier for others to understand your issue and figure out how to help.

If you've never heard of a reprex before, you might want to start by reading this FAQ:

Could you say more about what you mean by this (or, better yet, as suggested, include a small example)? From a quick look at the ghyp documentation, it seems like several base plotting methods are in there. You should be able to recreate these using ggplot2, it's a matter of having your data in a certain format (e.g. a data frame).

I fully endorse @andresrcs and @mara reprex suggestion.

But, without having any experience of ghyp, I would generally plot a distribution by:

• defining the range of x values I want to cover;
  • calculate the y values using the relevant density function; and
  • put x and y into a data.frame and then plot it with ggplot and geom_line.

For a Normal distribution that might be:

library(ggplot2)
x <- seq(-3,3,0.01)
y <- dnorm(x, mean = 0, sd = 1)
DF <- data.frame(x = x, y = y)
ggplot(DF,aes(x = x, y = y)) + geom_line()

Created on 2019-04-03 by the reprex package (v0.2.1)

So, assuming you there is a dghyp function in the ghyp package and you obtain parameters for your hyperbolic distribution from your fitting process, I think you should be able to pretty much follow that pattern.

Hope this helps.

Ron.

1 Like

@mara sorry for not clarifying good enough.