monthly time series merging 2 data sets

Hi team,
I am a beginner in R and wanted to create a time series graph below

I have 2 different data sets, one with 196 obs with 32 var and another with 6804 obs with 39 variables. I tried to merge the files but it gave me 1.3 million obs which significantly slowed down the R studio.

For the graph, I plan to use ggplot to plot the graph with geom_line

Can I please get tip on how to have 6805 data sets only instead of 1.3 m obs and create the line graph. thank you

If you make your data tidy you will likely be able to trivially combine the two 'now tidied' sources by vertically stacking them with dplyr::bind_rows()

You can read about tidydata here : Tidy data • tidyr

Merging the datasets appropriately

To fix the problem of merging two datasets you should make sure that:

1. Both data sets have a common key or identifier (example: a date or time column) that you can use to merge them.
  2. Use the merge() or dplyr::join() function to merge the data sets by the common key. This should result in a data frame with the combined information without any extra data included.

Here's an example of how to create a time series plot in R using ggplot2 with two example data frames and a common time column:

# Example data frame 1 with 196 observations
data1 <- data.frame(
  time = seq(Sys.Date(), by = "1 day", length.out = 196),
  value1 = rnorm(196)
)

# Example data frame 2 with 6804 observations
data2 <- data.frame(
  time = seq(Sys.Date() - 196, by = "1 day", length.out = 6804),
  value2 = rnorm(6804)
)

# Merge the data frames by the 'time' column
merged_data <- merge(data1, data2, by = "time", all = TRUE)

# Load the ggplot2 library
library(ggplot2)

# Create a time series plot
ggplot(merged_data, aes(x = time)) +
  geom_line(aes(y = value1, color = "Data1"), size = 1) +
  geom_line(aes(y = value2, color = "Data2"), size = 1) +
  scale_color_manual(values = c("Data1" = "blue", "Data2" = "red")) +