making the switch from shinydashboardPlus to bslib

so this is going to be a long post, we'll see where it goes :slight_smile:

i've been building Shiny apps for a couple years using shinydashboardPlus. i've been really happy with the widgets and layouts available, but recently i was exposed to bslib and given the impression that down the road, there'll be much more capability and new features here. i'm excited to make the switch, and began exploring different options with bslib with a mind towards building something similar to what i usually do in shinydashboardPlus.

the link below is to a Posit Cloud space where my different attempts reside...

i'm taking this opportunity to organize my code better than i used to, and so i've refactored out into separate files different visualizations. similarly, while i'm exploring different app UI options, i've refactored out different UI's into separate files. the app.R file allows you to explore the different UI options by just commenting out all but the one you want to see. the options available are:

1. ui_dashboardPlus.R - the UI example i aspire to mimic with bslib, which uses shinydashboardPlus
  2. ui_pageSidebar.R - exploring bslib's page_sidebar()
  3. ui_pageNavbar.R - exploring bslib's page_navbar()
  4. ui_pageFillable.R - exploring bslib's page_fillable()
  5. ui_gridPage.R - exploring gridlayout's grid_page()

the contents of the app are just notational... arbitrary data and visualizations and just a collection of inputs to see how they look under different themes... they don't control anything in the app. i'm still trying to settle on which of the bslib options i like the best, and finally to the crux of my post, here's some questions i'm having about my experience so far.