Legitimizing R in Regulated Systems

Hello Everyone!

I work in the pharmaceutical industry, and I am working towards expanding the use of R in drug research and discovery. Nearly all of the programmers I meet in this industry are SAS programmers, and not to hate on SAS, it has its place, but a lot of the opportunities to improve how we investigate drug safety and efficacy is out of reach for most SAS programs.
Where I currently work, I administer a very small RStudio and shiny server, and with these, I have created applications to improve workflow and data fitness. I worry about all the other programmers that got their server requests denied out of fear, ignorance, or apathy towards R. My goal of this post is to get some feedback on the challenges facing R in general and specifically to a regulated, established industry like pharmaceuticals.
I've many presentations on how to administer R in a way the produces accurate, reproducible research, but this is more of a question of convincing those who know nothing about R.

• What challenges have other people faced in getting a dedicated R environment?
  • At organizations that have mature R development teams, what did your growth look like?
  • What kind of features of R, Rstudio, shiny server, R Package manager, etc., would help me justify them during a cost/benefit analysis?
  • What roadblocks do you see for the industry as a whole?

Thank you for reading and I look forward to any discussion!

4 Likes

These two challenges are probably common for any organization, no matter how tightly regulated:

1. Convincing an organization's lawyers to approve the different open source licenses. Sadly, this could also include explaining that "open source" is not the "freeware" of yesteryear which could come with malicious aspects.