Job Titles & Descriptions

Due to a variety of things at work, there is potential for me to have a title change. This has led me to thinking about what title I would like to have and what would fit my position best.

Because of all of this, I am interested in what types of industries and positions are represented in the RStudio Community. What do you do and what do you use R for mainly.

As for me, I'm a Data Consultant (which could be changing) for a local mental health board. I do a lot of data entry, cleaning, and reporting as well as various other duties as assigned.

6 Likes

I've been a Data Analyst for most of my career, and then one day somebody who was familiar with my work suggested I change my title to Data Scientist, so I did. I've had discussions about whether or not I "deserve" the title several times, and I think that a lot of the job titles around data science are very vague and unclear. I think this is a worthwhile. It will be hard to achieve a critical mass around any specific rubric about job titles in the near future.

2 Likes

This is exactly why I wanted this thread! Would you mind sharing what type of work you do regularly?

1 Like

I work for an analytics consultancy. I work almost exclusively in R to do visualizations. I don't do MUCH modeling, but I do some and have the ability to do more than I'm asked to do currently in my job.

1 Like

I've had the following titles, and used R for all of them:

Director, Data Science
Director, Data Analysis & Visualization
Outcomes Analyst
Data Analyst
Manager, Research & Evaluation
Director, Data System & Analysis (current position)

In every single one of the above positions I've done the following:

• Oversee data collection
  • Data wrangling, cleaning, tidying
  • Data analysis ranging from simple descriptive statistics to more advanced statistical analysis to building predictive models
  • Data visualization as a means of communicating findings