Is there a memory capacity for Rstudio server hosted on an AWS EC2 instance?

Hi all,

I am relatively new to rstudio-server and I would really appreciate some help with a problem I am having. I have an rstudio-server setup on an aws ec2 instance (t2.large -> 8GiB memory) . I am working with a large online user-behaviour dataset (object.size() = 2.3 GB). I am able to read the file into rstudio-server, but then doing simple filtering tasks on the same object produces the following error: "The previous R session was abnormally terminated due to an unexpected crash. You may have lost workspace data as a result of this crash".

I assume this is because I have run out of useable memory, but my question is whether increasing the memory on my ec2 instance will fix this problem, or whether rstudio-server has an independent top limit memory capacity.

Any guidance would be really appreciated!

Rstudio doesn't has a memory limit so increasing the memory for your EC2 instance would help but maybe you want to look into more memory efficient packages (that edit data in place and do not create copies) or on-disk approaches like using a sql backend or big data specific database engines.

Wow, thank you @andresrcs for the fast reply. Currently I am cleaning the data up, therefore making changes to the object, but saving it as the same object. Does this still create a copy of the data? Also, fully agreed that a proper sql backend would be more efficient, that infrastructure is on the roadmap, but further down the line haha.

Depending on the packages you are using, yes, maybe. If memory allocation is your biggest concern right now, look into data.table or disk.frame packages.

You could simply install the sql server in the same EC2 instance and use an R wrapper (like dbplyr) to use it from R.

I would add that a machine with 8GB of RAM is really small. Even a basic laptop these days probably is larger.

1 Like

Alright, I'll look into both of these options!