Improve deep learning regression model

I am a classical statistician now trying to educate myself on deep learning, initially for regression problems, using Deep Learning in R, 2nd edition, as my textbook. I have read the chapter on the Boston Housing problem and am now working on the full Ames Housing data set (not the Kaggle version). Following the book’s recommendation, I first developed a baseline classical statistical approach to serve as a minimum benchmark model which I will try to improve using deep learning. Specifically, I have completed the data for all 82 variables and all 2930 house sale records and used Breheny’s grpreg (a glmnet like variable selection package) to select the 140 individual model matrix columns that optimize the prediction and cross-validation of log(SalePrice). This gives me a median absolute deviation (mad) of $8,241 from the actual SalePrice, and a mad to true value error ratio of 0.05, which seems to me to be a pretty good model. I am trying to see whether I can better this result using deep learning. I started with the following pretty simple model:

build_model <- function() { model <- keras_model_sequential() %>%
layer_dense(150, activation = “relu”) %>%
layer_dense(150, activation = “relu”) %>%
layer_dense(1)
model %>% compile(optimizer = 'rmsprop’, loss = 'mse’, metrics = ‘mae’)
model }
set.seed(12345) model <- build_model()
history <- model %>% fit(Xtrain2, logytrain2,
epochs = 100, batch_size = 32, verbose = 0,
validation_data = list(Xtest2, logytest2) )

This gives me a result not quite as good as I got with classic regression (mad SalePrice error of $12,950 and mad error ratio of 0.06).