Importing multiple images, checking the variance and eliminating the once with low variance

Hello everyone,

I am new to R and have been trying to eliminate blurred/snow covered images from camera trap data. I have decided to import all these images and check the pixel variance for each of them, I want to then eliminate all the images with very low pixel variance and keep rest of them.

My code is a bit of mess right now, and I can't seem to figure out how to move forward with it.
Any kind of help would be appreciated.

install.packages("jpeg")
install.packages("ReadImages")
install.packages("Readbitmap")
install.packages ("Imager")
install.packages("magick")
install.packages("EBImage")

library(magick)
library(purrr)
library("jpeg")
library(EBImage)
library(dplyr)

setwd(".....")

Folder <- "....."
images <- list.files(path = Folder, pattern = "*.JPG", full.names = TRUE)
images
image_variance <- function(x) {
x %>%
as.raster() %>%
as.vector() %>%
map(col2rgb) %>%

Hi @Alorecia,

So there are still some questions that need to be answered to get to a solution. Are your pictures colour or grayscale? If coloured, how should that be handled? Is the variance calculated channel-wise, or should the channels be averaged together to get a single pixel-wise intensity?

If the latter, which seems to make most sense, should each channel have equal weight, or should the channels be averaged according to how each channel is perceived by the human eye? I believe something like 0.3 * red + 0.6 * green + 0.1 * blue is approximately correct, but I need to double check those numbers.

With these questions answered, we can think about how we would compute the variance for a single image, and then it should be straightforward enough to extend this to multiple images.

Here is a quick attempt using two images I grabbed from Unsplash...

library(magick)
library(tidyverse)

imgs <- c("~/Desktop/winter.jpg", "~/Desktop/summer.jpg")
imgs <- map(imgs, image_read)

x %>%