How to set up RStudio for multi-threaded reading/loading and writing/saving

Hi folks,

To set some background: I'm a sysadmin, not familiar with R but still responsible for the deployment of Rstudio. I've gathered that large workspaces (ergo: large .Rdata files) will cause slowdowns when opening Rstudio, and perhaps closing Rstudio as well. I've never verified closing as I've ran out of time with a researcher who was fluent in R that was impacted by the slowness. But I've been told saving the workspace is even slower.

I can't enforce our users to keep their workspaces small/tidy. All the gentle reminders and prodding will still result in 50+GB RData files which expands to 100+GB workspaces. Said project/workspace took 15+ minutes to open.

We tried moving those files to NVMe SSDs (Intel P6400s). Made zero difference. Took a look at Task Mgr (Windows) and saw only 1 out of 64 threads was being utilized and memory usage tick upwards while Rstudio was opening. Which is how I've arrived at the conclusion the loading process was single threaded.

So my question: any way to speed this up? Ideally parallelized loading/saving. Typical high compute servers don't exactly have the best single core performance compared to HEDT/consumer chips, but they have a bunch of cores instead.

And no, I can't test things independently because we have security policies in place where server admins don't have access to data.

For reference: Rstudio 2022.7.2. Windows Server 2019, Dual Xeon Gold 3160, 768GB RAM

Probably futile, but consider turning off reading .Rdata files at startup perhaps?

Tools > Global Options ...> General > Basic > Workspace uncheck Restore .Rdata into workspace at startup
Project Options > General > Workspace Restore .Rdata into workspace at startup: No.

1 Like

Ask your R users to check out the {qs} package which does "quick serialisation" of R objects, is multithreaded and can replace the use of .Rdata files.