How does lm differentiate polynomial vs multiple regression?

I'm new to R and following along with a course, so forgive me if this question is butchered with core misunderstandings.

I created a multiple linear regression using the following command:

regressor = lm(formula = Profit ~ ., data = training_set)

When plotted, it generated a straight, "best fitting line". I have no idea what mechanism lm uses to compute this, but based on what I read it seems fair to assume it might be solving for it analytically or by using gradient decent to estimate the slope and y-intercept, based on partial derivatives for all independent variables that were passed into it from training_set.

With a different data structure I then modified this other data set to include some new columns:

dataset$Level2 = dataset$Level^2
dataset$Level3 = dataset$Level^3
dataset$Level4 = dataset$Level^4

I then run the same command from above again, and now suddenly my line is curved via a polynomial regression, yet I called the identical lm function.

I'm not sure how this works. My assumption is that multiple linear regression (which outputs a straight line) and a polynomial linear regression (which can output a curve) might have different cost functions, or use different strategies to solve for the variables... if this assumption is true then how is it deciding which to choose based only on my data? How does it know my power columns are not actually normal data columns that should be fit using a multiple linear regression?

1 Like

You're getting different results because the regression models are different.

You haven't shown your data, but the model formula Profit ~ . will use all columns besides Profit as the independent variables. If Level is the only other column, then Profit ~ . is equivalent to Profit ~ Level, which will give a line (a first-order polynomial) for the regression fit.