How can I limit multithreading for R-Studio Server (open-source) Users as admin

I am an R admin for some linux servers running R-studio server (the free version.) By default, many R packages that have parallelization (interfacing with Open MP) assume they have all the cores on the system at their disposal. As a consequence, users running r packages like xgboost are causing server crashes at my organization. I've been able to set a default maximum for number of cores used by a session to 4 for R scripts running outside the rstudio ide by setting OMP_NUM_THREADS=4 in a profile.d script, but I'm having trouble figuring out where I can set OMP_NUM_THREADS in a way that rstudio server (open source) users will be affected. I've tried adding an override.conf file for rstudio-server's systemD unit file using sudo systemctl edit rstudio-server to add the following text and restarting the service with no success (r-studio sessions still use the maximum number of cores available.)

[Service]
Environment="OMP_NUM_THREADS=4"

Any advice is much appreciated!

In case it is helpful, here is an example script that would run R "off the rails" if run on one of our servers:

library(xgboost) #for fitting the xgboost model
library(caret) #for general data preparation and model fitting

#load the data (duplicate a few times to simulate bigger dataset)
data = rbind(MASS::Boston)
for(i in 1:250){
  data = rbind(data, MASS::Boston)
}
data = rbind(data, data)
data = rbind(data, data)
data = rbind(data, data)

#view the structure of the data
str(data)

#make this example reproducible
set.seed(0)

#split into training (80%) and testing set (20%)
parts = createDataPartition(data$medv, p = .8, list = F)
train = data[parts, ]
test = data[-parts, ]

#define predictor and response variables in training set
train_x = data.matrix(train[, -13])
train_y = train[,13]

#define predictor and response variables in testing set
test_x = data.matrix(test[, -13])
test_y = test[, 13]