gmailr token name does not match hash

I am failing in trying to use gmailr on a headless server, though I have another server where it is working. I have looked through the documentation, but I have not found anything similar to my problem.
Several months ago I set up an Oauth Client account at Google, downloaded the json file and generated a token. I use the json and the token on my personal laptop and on a remote headless server every day. The laptop runs Linux Mint 18.3 and the server runs Ubuntu 16.04. I have now copied, via scp, the same json file and token to a new machine running Ubuntu 22.04. When I try to send an email, I get the message
! Cache contains a token with a name that does not match its hash:
The token is then renamed and the process fails, as shown below where the gargle verbosity has been set to "debug".
I would be very grateful for any guidance, as I am a novice at authentication set up.
See Edit below

> library(gmailr)

Attaching package: ‘gmailr’

The following object is masked from ‘package:utils’:

history

The following objects are masked from ‘package:base’:

body, date, labels, message

> options(gargle_verbosity = "debug")
> options(gargle_oauth_email = "fjcc.email@gmail.com")
> gm_auth_configure(path = "mail/MyApp2.json")
> gm_auth(path = "mail/MyApp2.json", cache = "mail")
trying `token_fetch()`
trying `credentials_service_account()`
JSON does not appear to represent a service account
Did you provide the JSON for an OAuth client instead of for a service account?
trying `credentials_external_account()`
aws.ec2metadata not installed; cant detect whether running on EC2 instance
trying `credentials_app_default()`
trying `credentials_gce()`
trying `credentials_byo_oauth()`
Error caught by `token_fetch()`:
inherits(token, "Token2.0") is not TRUE
trying `credentials_user_oauth2()`
Gargle2.0 initialize
adding "userinfo.email" scope
! Cache contains a token with a name that does not match its hash: