Exporting to Excel doesn't work

I am completely new with R/Rstudio, and have no time or desire to learn all these chinese commands; I just want to export a filtered selection from a table (called 'NHANES') to Excel (or XML or TXT). But, something that should be a very basic standard option in a statistical software package seems to be a very complicated task in this very user unfriendly software.
After a long search I found this:
install.packages("writexl")
write_xlsx(NHANES, "c:\temp\test.xls", col_names=TRUE)

But this only works half:

• Only numbers are saved, not strings and not the column names.
  • All the data are saved, while I want only my filtered selection.

I hope someone here can give me a simple instruction 'for dummies' to accomplish this.
Thanks in advance!

Ok, I'll bite.

R is not a statistical software package, it's a programming language, primarily for statistical purposes. RStudio is an IDe (integrated development environment) which makes work easier.

What you describe as "Chinese" are commands or functions to perform certain actions.

What you have written will write the object NHANES to a file, but you have not specified a valid file name. You either need to change this to "c:/temp/test.xls" (any system) or "c:\temp\test.xls" (Windows only).

For anythingelse you'll need to provide something we can reproduce:

1 Like

Thanks for replying. The filename doesn't seem to be the problem. It is created indeed and I can open it, but as I said, it only contains the numbers from the table, not the strings and not the titles, which seems like a serious bug to me.

Ok, as you have not provided a reproducible example that would allow people to help and diagnose your issue, maybe reflect on what's more likely: a serious bug not identified in software used by millions of people daily or you have made an error?