DT table not rendering when using HTML tag

I noticed that tables generated with the DT package fail to render in my HTML document when I apply a <details> HTML tag to the code chunk.

I'm a HTML novice and would appreciate it if someone explained why this happens. A workaround would be a welcome bonus.

Struggling to incorporate the HTML code in my post, so I've uploaded this screenshot instead.

Example

I wonder if this is not the same as in

and this is somehow browser related unfortunately.

Like something not well supported upstream in the Javascript library

One theory offered by a colleague is that the browser tries to load the data table before the DOM (?) is loaded. (I'm not sure about my terms here, this is tech hearsay.) Somehow Chrome gets around this, but Safari and Firefox do not.

My solution has been to:

• Avoid data tables if possible (for simple ones, just use gt)
  • When necessary, explain how to use data tables and explain what to do when they don't appear, as follows:

Thank you for the insight.

Good to know the issue seems browser-specific.

I'll stop assuming the issue is related to my coding illiteracy, and I'll stick to kable tables whenever I need to save space in my markdown reports.

Also appreciate the reference to gt; I knew nothing about it, and the formatting options look great.

This is very odd, seems like an unintended interaction between DT and the <details> element, combined with a browser difference.

The DT tables aren't rendering within <details> because DT skips rendering if the widget's root element has zero width/height: DT/datatables.js at 9f84fb59fd99a3ca110bea7a9545ec32f2c4bf0f · rstudio/DT · GitHub. Since content within <details> is hidden by default, it won't have any width/height, so that'd explain why the tables don't render on initial page load.