Converting Hex/RGB values to HSL and writing the L values in to excel

Hello everyone,

I have an Excel sheet which only consists of a row of hex values which I want to transform into HSL values - I specifally only need the L values. These L should be written into the excel file. Following the code I'm trying and 5 hex number:

library("plotwidgets")
library("here")
library("openxlsx")

hexlist <- list("data/ahex.xlsx")
for (i in 1:1295) { 
   print(i)
  write.xlsx(col2hsl(i),"data/ahex.xlsx", asTable = F)
  } 

Hex
#DD5802
#B40215
#EF0001
#EE6C01
#C11D0C

This code only give the HSL values of the first hex number. But as stated i only need the L one from every 1295. I'm fairly new to Rstudio so please excuse if my code is horrible.

Thanks in advance :slightly_smiling_face:

Hi!

Your code has indeed a bit room for improvements :wink:, but no worries, we've all been there.

At first, you don't import your hex data correctly. To import an excel spreadsheet, you can use hexdata<-read.xlsx( "data/ahex.xlsx") which is also provided by the openxlsx package. The list function does not import data.

Here is a solution that allows you to create a data frame that contains the Hex value in one column, and the HSL in three corresponding columns. You can then use write.xlsx() to export the whole data frame, or you can extract only the L column and export it in the same way.

suppressPackageStartupMessages({
library(plotwidgets)
library(tidyverse)
})
# sample data
hexdata<-tibble::tribble(~ Hex,
                        "#DD5802",
                        "#B40215",
                        "#EF0001",
                        "#EE6C01",
                        "#C11D0C")

# apply to col2hsl function to each hex
my_outp<-hexdata%>%mutate(HSL=map(Hex,col2hsl)) 

# create an output with seperate HSL columns
my_outp<-my_outp%>%unnest_wider(HSL)
colnames(my_outp)<-c("Hex","H","S","L")

#show the output
my_outp
#> # A tibble: 5 x 4
#>   Hex          H     S     L