Conditional summation inside a for loop

Hello. You're dealing with a comparative newbie here.

I am trying to write a for loop to calculate some weighted sums across a number of variables. Here is some sample data.

library(tidyverse)
# Define weights

wt1 <- c(0.806, 0.586, 0.785)

# Create test data

col1 <- c(0, 4, 3, NA, 1)
col2 <- c(1, 3, 4, 2, NA)
col3 <- c(NA, 0, 3, 2, 2)
df <- as.data.frame(cbind(col1, col2, col3))

# Initialize summary values.

df$Num1 <- 0 
df$Denom <- 0

# Create loop
for(i in nrows(df)) {
    for(j in ncol(df) {
        if(!is.na(df[i,j]) 
            df$Num1[i] = df$Num1[i] + (df[i,j] * wt1[j])
            df$Denom[i] = df$Denom[i] + (4 * wt1[j])
    }
}

I'm trying to loop across both rows and columns and create a two summary values, both of which are conditional on valid data for the column. I'm expecting that Num1 in Row 1 should equal 0.8060 + 0.586 * 1 = 0.586, and that the Denom equals 4.806 + 4*.586 = 5.568.

EDIT: I found errors in the code regarding referencing the new variables with [i,j] when it should have been simply [i]. Updated now.

The error I receive is:

Error: unexpected '{' in:
"for(i in nrows(df)) {
for(j in ncol(df) {"

Any help would be greatly appreciated, including helping me learn a way to do this without using a loop. I have seen and used a matrix-based solution that requires complete data.

Thank you in advance.

You have all sorts of syntax errors here.

• The correct function to get the number of rows is nrow, not nrows.

• To index over all rows, you want i in 1:nrow(df), not i in nrow(df) (which will cause the outer loop to be executed just once, with i set to the number of rows in df).

• You have mismatched parentheses. An old school debugging trick is to start counting from 0, adding 1 for each opening parenthesis and subtracting 1 for each closing parenthesis. When you reach the end of an expression, the count should be 0.