Code for Historgrams

Hi there,

I'm new to R and R-Studio but have been watching lots of videos on how to get started and have picked up the main gist of how it works.

To practice I have assembled a sample data table in Numbers and exported it as a csv to R and the first image shows the table in R. It lists CoP values (and uncertainties) for 20 test events for two types of test, a regular and a control. I am just practicing showing the first column (CoP) against ID in a histogram.

When I use the code:

ggplot(aes(ID)) + geom_histogram(binwidth = 2, fill = "steelblue", alpha = 0.5) + labs(title = "CoP vs ID",
x = "ID", y = "CoP") + theme_bw()```

it produces a histogram as shown in the second image that does not seem to distinguish the various nuanced values (e.g. 2.12, 2.63, etc) but instead shows CoP values of 1, 2 or 3 against the test ID.

Is this because I have not specified a resolution to the mapping or something similar?

https://ibb.co/vwH7nz6

https://ibb.co/xLsk1sD

I'm not sure I have uploaded the images correctly as I can't get them to show. I will try ImgBB codes

library(ggplot2)
# default binwdith
mtcars |> ggplot(aes(mpg)) +
  geom_histogram() +
  theme_minimal()
#> `stat_bin()` using `bins = 30`. Pick better value with `binwidth`.

# finer grained
mtcars |> ggplot(aes(mpg)) +
  geom_histogram(binwidth = 0.25) +
  theme_minimal()

Created on 2024-01-08 with reprex v2.0.2

Hi there,

I have tried your code and it makes no difference. In this example, I want the test ID on the X axis and the CoP value on the Y axis. What I get is in the image link

COP1 %>%
  ggplot(aes(ID)) +
  geom_histogram() +
  theme_minimal()

It seems I need to specify the Y-axis variable and perhaps some resolution? The histogram blocks are all the same size indicating the frequency of occurrence instead of the CoP value (e.g. 2.14) for each test ID.

The graph linked isn't a standard histogram which shows the count by interval.