code error using pipe %>% 'object not found'

I'm just learning programming so I'd appreciate some help with a solution to my problem but also a source to help better understand the underlying issue. I'm sure I have an environment issue, and in second code chunk I've tried to address it, based on Karlijn Willems' article https://www.datacamp.com/tutorial/pipe-r-tutorial, but still get the same error.

I'm also getting an environment error when I try and knit the R markdown document: "Quitting from lines 10-17 (child_stays_markdown.Rmd) Error in eval(expr, envir, enclos) : object 'stays_weekend_in_nights' not found"
Insights on how to get the R markdown document format passed an error in a code chunk moved also appreciated.

Thanks

title: "hotel_bookings_pipe"
output: html_document
date: "2022-11-03"

trim1_df <- bookings_df %>% 
   select(children, stays_in_weekend_nights) %>% 
    subset(children > 0) %>% 
    total <-  sum(stays_weekend_in_nights, na.rm = TRUE)

total
head(trim1_df) 

## Error: object 'stays_weekend_in_nights' not found

```{r}
env <- environment()
trim1_df <- bookings_df %>% 
   select(children, stays_in_weekend_nights, envir = env) %>% 
    subset(children > 0) %>% 
total <-  sum(stays_weekend_in_nights, na.rm = TRUE)

total
head(trim1_df)

## Error: object 'stays_weekend_in_nights' not found

How did you read in bookings_df? If you view bookings_df do you see that column?

1 Like

When you knit an Rmd document the code gets executed in a clean environment other than the one you are currently working on so the mentioned data frame doesn't exist there and any non-base function has been loaded. You need to include the necessary code to import the data frame into memory and to load packages, in your Rmd document itself, for example, if the data frame comes from a csv file you would include something like this: your_data_frame <- read.csv("path_to_file.csv")and to load the tidyverse you wood need to add library(tidyverse)