Changing the order of factor levels in tidyverse

Hey everyone, I have two examples of code where I have a column with the factor datatype in the "gapminder" data set, and I'm trying to change the order of factor levels within that column.

In my first example, everything works fine. However, in my second example, when I don't assign the "gapminder" data set to a made up data frame, the order of my factor levels remain the same as the originally were: "Africa" "Americas" "Asia" "Europe" "Oceania". Why is that? Because I am a beginner to R, I would appreciate if someone could explain it in very simple terms. Thank you.

1st Syntax Example:

hey <- gapminder %>%
mutate(continent = factor(continent,
levels = c("Asia","Americas","Oceania","Europe","Africa")))

levels(info$continent)

2nd Syntax Example:

gapminder %>%

levels(gapminder$continent)

Functions in R take in arguments and return a value, If you don't store the returned value, it is printed to the console but not saved. In your second code

gapminder %>%

gapminder is passed to the mutate function and the levels of the continent column are changed but the resulting data frame is not saved. Running

gapminder <- gapminder %>%

would overwrite the original data frame . Or you could store the result in a new data frame.

NewDF <- gapminder %>%
1 Like

Thank you! That makes sense. I do have a question though: why does this concept not apply to something like the code below?When I execute my code I see that the hair_color column changes to a factor data type as I wanted, even though I did not assign my data frame to another data frame. Is it because we are not altering the actual data in the column and simply just the data type of the column?

starwars %>%
mutate(hair_color = as.factor(hair_color))

What you see is the class of the column changing in what is printed to the console. If you check the class of the column in the starwars data frame, it is still character.

library(dplyr)

data("starwars")