Career Specific Information Requested

I have a job offer with government agency and as a part of the restrictions in the interview process I am not allowed to interview someone that actually works at the agency for which the job offer is from. I am looking for some more information on what the day-to-day responsibilities would be for this position. I am a relative novice with R programming and want more information as to what I would be getting myself into. Here are the listed duties in the job posting. Any information would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

• Provide support for statistical software tools – particularly R packages – including but not limited to package documentation, function/package testing, and writing/updating R scripts to support package updates and new functionality;
  • Utilize version control software for tracking updates to code in software tool and data analyses;
  • Manage, manipulate, and assess scientific data (new and existing) for statistical analyses and incorporation into analysis tools (e.g. R packages) supporting researchers in the center;
  • Contribute to documentation/manuscripts to communicate results, software updates or features, statistical methods/models, and data analyses with stakeholders and researchers; and
  • Contribute to the design and implementation of methods that address goals including, but not limited to, developing best practices for data reporting, model assessment, package management, and similar efforts to increase transparency, reproducibility, and efficiency.

Job descriptions may, or may not, be reflective of what the new hire actually does. Much depends on the scale of the overall organization, how the unit fits in and what the organization does. So here’s my guess based on having worked in small and medium agencies, small and large A/E firms, Big Law and large and jumbo (JPM) banks.