Calculate mean values but for data that has more the 10 measurements.

Hello guys and gals. I am a student and new to R. I have this data set. I have to tidy it up with tidy verse and then calculate the mean height for each species that has at least 10 measurements.

My code so far looks like that

library(tidyverse)
library(dplyr)
biomass2015 <- read_csv(file = "biomass2015_H.csv")
biomass2015_long <- biomass2015 |>
pivot_longer(cols = c("H1","H2","H3","H4","H5","H6","H7","H8","H9","H10"), names_to = "Quadrant", values_to = "Value")

biomass2015_long_noMV <- biomass2015_long |>
drop_na(Value)

biomass2015_long_noMV |>
group_by(species) |>
summarise_at(vars(Value),
list("Mean Height" = mean))

It's for sure messy! My question is how to calculate the mean height for every species with at least 10 measurements. Any tips are more than welcome! :slight_smile:

Generate a column to count the species, then filter on that. You could use dplyr::add_tally().

Hey William thank you for your reply! Can you elaborate a little on your reply?
I know how many species I got but some of them have less that 10 height measurements..

Filter those out, then calculate the means. So before the group_by(species).

how I do I generate a new column with the sum of each species?

Sorry, dplyr::add_count(species) before the group by.

You could do it this way:

biomass2015_long_noMV %>%
  add_count(species) %>% 
  filter(n >= 10) %>% 
  group_by(species) %>%
  summarise(mean_height = mean(Value))

# showing counts
biomass2015_long_noMV %>%
  group_by(species) %>%
  summarise(mean_height = mean(Value), count = n()) %>% 
  filter(count >= 10)

Thank you man ! I figured it out exactly when to posted.
My code looks like that:

biomass2015 |> 
  group_by(species) |>
  add_count(species) |>
  filter(n >= 10) |>
  summarise_at(vars(Value),
               list("Mean Height" = mean))
1 Like