Asking for feedback and suggestion for my first project coded using R on Rstudio

I am relatively new to Data Analytics and have been self learning it through taking up a Google Data Analytics Processional Certification course on Coursera.

I have completed my first ever Data analytic project that I published on Github. It is a very simple project where I clean, organise, transform and analysis a set of data on Food Choice and Preferences of College Students. You can refer to this link for more details regarding it: GitHub - charlenelow/Food-Choices-and-Preferences-of-College-Students

I would like to get some feedback and suggestions on what I can improve on! I would greatly appreciate your help for that! Thank you in advance!

Please refer to my README.md file within the repository to get more details regarding the project.

1 Like

Great work on data wrangling. As a follow-up, you might want to run the data through the {vcd} package, which is specifically geared to questionnaire results.

A few tips/recommendations:

1. Don't use absolute paths. I saw this in your code food_survey_respond_df <-readr::read_csv("~/Desktop/My Projects/Food Choices and Preference of College Students/food_coded.csv") Will other people running this code have the data in the same place? Probably not. Instead, I recommend using the here package. https://here.r-lib.org/ Project-oriented workflow This could be replaced with: food_survey_respond_df <- readr::read_csv(here::here("food_coded.csv"))
  2. Why are you deleting all missing data? Removing more than half the rows?
  3. At the beginning of the analysis before diving in, give some context. Where did this data come from? How was it collected? When was it collected? I have no idea if this data is from the 1980s or 2023 if it's at one college, colleges across the US, or colleges across the world. Was it a random sample? A convenience sample?